Finished

Well I suppose it’s time I got off my lazy butt and officially updated this blog to let everyone know that at roughly 3:30 PM on July 10th I (and my father!) took the last few steps and positioned ourselves squarely at the northeastern-most edge of the British mainland. I have officially walked from the very southwest to the very northeast of Great Britain.

This post is a little bit delayed because having finished walking I naturally gave myself permission to become lazy beyond belief for a few days, and I’m only just now coming out of it.

Really the only thing I have to say at this point is that though the walk is over, I’m not quite ready to wrap up this blog yet. I have tons of pictures, and I plan on putting some of the more interesting ones up here in the near future. I’ll also trace out the rest of my route on google maps, and maybe spruce that up a bit with some pictures (if I can remember where exactly I took them). So, if you’re still interested in seeing some pictures or want to hear more about the trip, this blog isn’t over yet. If you have any things you’d like to hear more about, just reply to this in a comment. I’m not sure I did a very good job addressing the responses from my previous request (read: I did a terrible job) but I have a lot more spare time now.

Lastly, I guess this is as good a time as any to thank everyone for following this blog. I hope you enjoyed reading my posts as much as I enjoyed living them, and I’m sorry I couldn’t (slash didn’t) update more frequently!

7 Responses

  1. Yahoo! Cliff-hanging at the begnning and end of this journey…glad to hear you completed your task and in what I’d be inclined to say was, if not record, then certainly not too shabby time, ~ 57days by my reckoning.

    Congratulations are well-earned. Great job, Alex, I know we’re all proud of you. :-)

  2. WOOHOO!! You’re done! We are sooo proud of you! Can’t wait till you come back home to play with all of us!! Great job Kid.

  3. Hooray! Let the lethargy begin! Hehe…congrats on reaching your goal. I’m so proud to be a member of this family. You know, so I can live vicariously through those of you who accomplish things…

  4. Well done!!!!!!!! Your accomplishment is huge. I hope you are now getting some long awaited R&R. I would love to see more pictures and maybe hear about some of the people you met along the way. The story about the crazy guy who gave you a room for the night was a real hoot!

    –Lois

  5. Well, are you Stateside yet?

  6. Brilliant stuff Alex – have been following your amazing adventure. Many congratulations on completion – you must now write that book!

    I understand Angus has been in touch. He much admires your endurance – and now great achievement!

  7. So, we’re doing the Great Wall of China next year, right? It’s only about 5 times longer…

Leave a Reply

